Open vision bar

January 2021 School Board Meeting Press Release

School Board Meeting



EDMONTON, Ky. (January 13, 2021) – The Metcalfe County Board of Education met in regular session on Tuesday, January 12, 2021.


During the board meeting, Joey Shive was re-elected as chairman, and Tim Brown was re-elected as vice-chairman during unanimous decisions.


Superintendent Josh Hurt thanked all five board members, Joey Shive, Tim Brown, John Caffee, Robin McMurtrey, and Donnie Perry, for their service to Metcalfe County Schools as part of School Board Recognition Month. In addition, Freeda Reece, with Edmonton State Bank, presented the board members with a token of appreciation from the district’s longtime financial partner.


Chris Huffman, the district’s safe schools director, announced the district will begin administering the COVID-19 vaccine to teachers and staff starting Friday, January 15. The vaccine is voluntary.


Superintendent Josh Hurt announced Metcalfe County Schools received the 2020 KEMI (Kentucky Employers’ Mutual Insurance) Destiny Award. The award recognizes the district’s commitment to workplace safety. Metcalfe County is the only school district to win the award for three consecutive years.


Board members recognized the retirement of MCES exceptional education teacher Jerry Bennett. Mr. Bennet served Metcalfe County students for 20-years.


Board recognitions are sponsored by RBS Design Group, Glass & Thompson Insurance, and American Fidelity.


On the agenda, the board reviewed the 2021-22 draft budget and approved the 2021-22 contracts for non-residents.


The next board meeting is Monday, February 8, 2021, at 6 pm.




Freeda Reece

Pictured Above: Robin McMurtrey and Freeda Reece


Jerry Bennett

Pictured Above: Chairman Joey Shive, Mr. Jerry Bennett, Principal Michael Gill


Back to School News       Print